6

‘I sat at night in violent pain on a bench. Opposite me on another, two girls sat down. They seemed to want to discuss something in confidence and began to whisper. Nobody except me was nearby, and I would not have understood their Italian however loud it had been. But now I could not resist the feeling, in face of this unmotivated whispering in a language inaccessible to me, that a cool dressing was being applied to the painful place.’

WB, ‘One Way Street’, Selected Works, Vol 1, p.480.

This entry was posted in walter benjamin smackdown. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

